I can’t count the people I’ve come out to on one hand!

Now I have to use both!

I came out to two good friends last night. The first time I have talked to anyone about this in more than two years. They were both really supportive. It’s not fear of their reactions that made it so hard, it’s something inside me. I’m really messed up.

One of these days I’ll be able to come out without crying.

On a separate note, while on the phone to my mum, she used the phrase “and if you get a partner” in a rather boring conversation about the cost of living and the necessity of working full time when I’d rather cut my hours. That’s interesting because it’s the first time she’s ever used that phrase in more than twenty years. It’s always been “when/if you get married” before. I wonder if she suspects, or if she merely thinks I may wish to cohabit with an opposite sex partner. Either way, it’s a big change, and encouraging.

Leave a comment